Ministry of Waterways signs MOA with 11 Municipal Councils











The Ministry of Waterways today signed Memorandum of Agreements (MOA) with 11 municipal councils for disbursement of grants for drainage maintenance works within their boundaries.

While speaking at the signing in Suva today, Minister for Waterways Hon. Dr Mahendra Reddy said Government was committed to addressing drainage issues within towns and cities boundaries.

In the 2017 – 2018 budget, a provision of $1.32 million was made to carryout drainage maintenance in municipalities around the country.

“These grant funds are shared among 11 town and city councils for maintenance of drainage activities as per submission from municipal councils and clearance by the Local Government Ministry,” Minister Reddy said.

Minister Reddy reminded the special administrators and chief executive officers that “the grant will be paid in quarterly instalments subject to timely submission of quarterly acquittal reports from respective municipal councils”.

“The municipal council must utilise the grant as efficiently and effectively as possible and must take action to improve its efficiency and effectiveness as required by the Government,” he added.

Grant disbursement to the municipal councils is as follows:

Nasinu Town Council – $476,000
Nausori Town Council – $80,847
Sigatoka Town Council – $32,201
Nadi Town Council – $352,000
Lautoka City Council – $40,000
Ba Town Council – $32,300
Tavua Town Council – $12, 290
Rakiraki Town Council – $212,000
Labasa Town Council – $48,400
Savusavu Town Council – $21, 954.11
Levuka Town Council – $15,000

Scroll To Top
Menu Title
Fiji One

Fiji One

error: © Fiji One News